Events

Event Date Meeting Information PRO RC
November Board Meeting Wed, 2019/11/13 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
December Board Meeting Wed, 2019/12/11 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
January Board Meeting Wed, 2020/01/08 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
February Board Meeting Wed, 2020/02/12 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
March Board Meeting Wed, 2020/03/11 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
April Board Meeting Wed, 2020/04/08 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
Opening Work Day Sat, 2020/05/02 - 08:00 to 15:00 Volunteer Event for all LCYC Members
May Board Meeting Wed, 2020/05/13 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
Coffee Pot (MBBC) - CANCELLED Sat, 2020/05/23 - 10:00 to 16:30 09:00 MBBC Information & Results
Wednesday A1 Wed, 2020/05/27 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Chuck Bowen Michael Kerbaugh
Tea Kettle Sat, 2020/05/30 - 10:30 to 16:00 09:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results rickstevens
New Member Orientation--CANCELLED Sat, 2020/05/30 - 17:00 to 18:00
Opening Cocktail Party--CANCELLED Sat, 2020/05/30 - 18:00 to 20:30
Etchells-Sportboat 1 Mon, 2020/06/01 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Bob DeSorbo Walt Marti
Wednesday A2 Wed, 2020/06/03 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Fritz Horton Geoff Ibbott
Burger Burn A2 Wed, 2020/06/03 - 19:00 to 21:00
Vessel Inspection Sat, 2020/06/06 - 09:00 to 16:20
Royal Savage (MBBC) - CANCELLED Sat, 2020/06/06 - 10:30 to 16:30 MBBC Information & Results | LCCS
June Board Meeting Mon, 2020/06/08 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
Wednesday A3 Wed, 2020/06/10 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Bob Finn Ulie Holzinger
Junior Sailing Meet & Greet Thu, 2020/06/11 - 18:30 to 20:00 Meet the staff and learn about the program
Cruiser Potluck Fri, 2020/06/12 - 17:00 to 21:00 Club provides burgers; bring sides to share
Father's Day Cruise Sat, 2020/06/13 - 08:30 to 16:00 Check Cruising board and email for destination
Zoom Yoga Night Mon, 2020/06/15 - 18:00 to 19:30
Etchells-Sportboat 2 Mon, 2020/06/15 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Doug Merrill Charlie Van Winkle
Wednesday A4 Wed, 2020/06/17 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Steve Walkerman
Bove's Lasagna Night A4 Wed, 2020/06/17 - 19:00 to 21:00 Bove's Lasagna, antipasto salad, dessert
Junior Race Clinic Thu, 2020/06/18 - 17:30 to 19:00 Race training for junior sailors
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/06/18 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Odziozo Sat, 2020/06/20 - 10:30 to 16:00 09:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results | LCCS John Harris Bob Finn
Finch Cup (MBBC) Sun, 2020/06/21 - 12:55 to 16:30 11:00 MBBC Information & Results
Wednesday B1 Wed, 2020/06/24 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results James Unsworth
Flatbread Pizza Night B1 Wed, 2020/06/24 - 19:00 to 21:00 American Flatbread Pizza, salad, dessert
Junior Race Clinic Thu, 2020/06/25 - 17:30 to 19:00 Race training for junior sailors
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/06/25 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Cruiser Potluck Fri, 2020/06/26 - 17:00 to 21:00 Club provides burgers; bring sides to share
July Cruise Week Sat, 2020/06/27 - 08:30 to Sun, 2020/07/05 - 16:00 Check Cruising board and email for destination
Etchells-Sportboat 3 Mon, 2020/06/29 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Bob DeSorbo Stephen Unsworth
Wednesday B2 Wed, 2020/07/01 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Keith Kennedy (PRO/RC)
Parent/Child Sail-Along Thu, 2020/07/02 - 17:30 to 19:00 Junior sailors and their parents sailing together
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/07/02 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Fireworks & Rendezvous Fri, 2020/07/03 - 16:00 to 23:55 Club potluck and Burlington fireworks
Wednesday B3 Wed, 2020/07/08 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Bob Finn
Olde Fashioned Burger Burn B3 Wed, 2020/07/08 - 19:00 to 21:00 Burgers and hot dogs on the grill
Junior Race Clinic Thu, 2020/07/09 - 17:30 to 19:00 Race training for junior sailors
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/07/09 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Commodores' Potluck Fri, 2020/07/10 - 18:00 to 19:30
Mayor's Cup (VSC) Sat, 2020/07/11 - 10:00 to 16:00 Mayor's Cup Information & Results | LCCS
Valcour Race (VSC) Sun, 2020/07/12 - 10:00 to 16:00 VSC Information & Results | LCCS
Family Day Sun, 2020/07/12 - 12:00 to 17:00 A social event for the whole family at LCYC
Etchells-Sportboat 4 Mon, 2020/07/13 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Mark Gardner (PRO/RC) Jeff Bourdeau
July Board Meeting Tue, 2020/07/14 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
Champ Chase Regatta (MBBC) Wed, 2020/07/15 - 09:00 to Thu, 2020/07/16 - 16:00 09:00 Junior Sailing Regatta
Wednesday B4 Wed, 2020/07/15 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Ernie Reuter (PRO/RC)
Bove's Lasagna Night B4 Wed, 2020/07/15 - 19:00 to 21:00 Bove's Lasagna, antipasto salad, dessert
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/07/16 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Boat Show & Tag Sale Fri, 2020/07/17 - 18:00 to 20:00 Tour featured boats; Junior Sailing tag sale
Lake Champlain Race (MBBC) Fri, 2020/07/17 - 20:00 to Sat, 2020/07/18 - 19:00 MBBC Information & Results | LCCS
Champagne Race & Rendezvous Sat, 2020/07/18 - 08:30 to 16:00 Check Cruising board and email for information
Wednesday B5 Wed, 2020/07/22 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Bill Wight (PRO/RC)
Cheeseburger Regatta (LGC) Thu, 2020/07/23 - 12:00 to Fri, 2020/07/24 - 15:00 09:00 Junior Sailing Regatta
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/07/23 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Dessert Pot Luck Fri, 2020/07/24 - 18:00 to 19:30 Something Sweet
Double-Handed Sat, 2020/07/25 - 10:30 to 16:00 09:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Dave Powlison Les Velte
Etchells-Sportboat 5 Mon, 2020/07/27 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Bill Wight (PRO/RC) Doug Merrill
Wednesday C1 Wed, 2020/07/29 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Fritz Horton Will Nye
Junior Race Clinic Thu, 2020/07/30 - 17:30 to 19:00 Race training for junior sailors
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/07/30 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Ladies Cup Breakfast Sat, 2020/08/01 - 08:00 to 09:00 Enjoy a pre-race breakfast
Ladies Cup Sat, 2020/08/01 - 11:00 to 16:00 09:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results | LCCS Keith Kennedy/Bern Collins
Ladies Cup Awards Sat, 2020/08/01 - 16:00 to 18:00 Ladies Cup Awards
August Board Meeting Mon, 2020/08/03 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
Parent-Child Sail Along Tue, 2020/08/04 - 17:30 to 19:00
Wednesday C2 Wed, 2020/08/05 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Wendy Friant (PRO/RC)
Burger Burn C2 Wed, 2020/08/05 - 19:00 to 21:00
Junior Race Clinic Thu, 2020/08/06 - 17:30 to 19:00 Race training for junior sailors
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/08/06 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Cruiser Potluck Fri, 2020/08/07 - 17:00 to 20:00 Club provides burgers; bring sides to share
Perseid Meteor Cruise Week Sat, 2020/08/08 - 08:30 to 16:00 Check Cruising board and email for destination
Etchells-Sportboat 6 Mon, 2020/08/10 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Mark Gardner (PRO/RC) John Stetson
Wednesday C3 Wed, 2020/08/12 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Doug Viehmann Griffparker
Flatbread Pizza Night C3 Wed, 2020/08/12 - 19:00 to 21:00 American Flatbread Pizza, salad, dessert
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/08/13 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Diamond Island Regatta (RSYC) Sat, 2020/08/15 - 11:00 to 16:00 09:30 RSYC Information & Results | LCCS
Wednesday C4 Wed, 2020/08/19 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Scott Fewell w/ Bob Finn
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/08/20 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Corn Roast Fri, 2020/08/21 - 18:00 to 19:30
Omnium Champlain Sat, 2020/08/22 - 10:00 to 16:00 09:00 Omnium Champlain Information & Results | LCCS
Etchells-Sportboat 7-1 Sat, 2020/08/22 - 10:00 to 15:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results TBD Tony Lamb
Etchells-Sportboat 7-2 Sun, 2020/08/23 - 10:00 to 16:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Keith Kennedy (PRO/RC)
Wednesday C5 Wed, 2020/08/26 - 18:10 to 21:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Doug Merrill Gerry Davis
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/08/27 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Cruiser Potluck Fri, 2020/08/28 - 17:00 to 20:00 Club provides burgers; bring sides to share
Schuyler Island Sat, 2020/08/29 - 10:30 to 16:00 09:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Dale Hyerstay Kevin Hawko
Leukemia Cup Sat, 2020/08/29 - 10:30 to 16:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results | LCCS James Unsworth
Wednesday D1 Wed, 2020/09/02 - 17:25 to 20:30 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results John O'Rourke Bob Turnau
Oktoberfest Night D1 Wed, 2020/09/02 - 19:00 to 21:00 Sausages, sauerkraut, potato salad, black forest cake
Singlehanded Dinghy Races Thu, 2020/09/03 - 18:00 to 20:30 Casual, fun racing for singlehanded dinghies.
Labor Day Cruise Sat, 2020/09/05 - 08:30 to Mon, 2020/09/07 - 16:00 Check Cruising board and email for destination
Etchells-Sportboat 8 Sat, 2020/09/05 - 10:00 to 16:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Keith Kennedy
September Board Meeting Mon, 2020/09/07 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
Wednesday D2 Wed, 2020/09/09 - 17:25 to 20:30 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Scott Fewell Tristram Coffin
Macdonough Breakfast Sat, 2020/09/12 - 08:00 to 09:00
Commodore Macdonough Sat, 2020/09/12 - 10:30 to Sun, 2020/09/13 - 16:00 09:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results | LCCS Fritz Horton/Doug Friant/Bob Finn Bob Finn
Wednesday D3 Wed, 2020/09/16 - 17:25 to 20:30 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Bill Wight William Wight
Fall Foliage Cruise Sat, 2020/09/19 - 08:30 to Tue, 2020/09/22 - 16:00 Check Cruising board and email for destination
Viper 640 Regatta Sat, 2020/09/19 - 10:30 to Sun, 2020/09/20 - 16:00 08:30 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results John Harris
Wednesday D4 Wed, 2020/09/23 - 17:25 to 20:30 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Wendy Friant Jason Hyerstay
Hot-Ruddered Bum Sat, 2020/09/26 - 10:30 to 16:00 09:00 Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results Dale Hyerstay Joss Besse
Hot Ruddered Bum Social Sat, 2020/09/26 - 13:00 to 16:00
Benedict Arnold (MBBC) Sat, 2020/10/03 - 10:30 to 16:30 MBBC Information & Results
October Board Meeting Mon, 2020/10/05 - 18:30 to 20:00 Monthly meeting of the Board of Governors
Racing Awards Night Sat, 2020/10/10 - 18:00 to 21:00 American Flatbread Pizza
Fall Work Day Sat, 2020/10/17 - 08:00 to 15:00 Volunteer event for all LCYC Members
Club

The Lake Champlain Yacht Club is a member-run yacht club located in a sheltered cove on the southwest shore of Shelburne Bay in Shelburne, Vermont, USA. We offer moorings, activities, and community for our members, most of whom own a sailboat or powerboat. The object of the Club is to promote and encourage boating and sailing on Lake Champlain, while emphasizing racing, cruising, and education, without financial gain. Please let us know if you are interested in membership!

About | Binnacle | Directions | History

Cruising

Lake Champlain offers some of the best freshwater cruising in North America. The beautiful scenery and charming lakeside destinations make it a great place to explore. LCYC organizes several rendezvous events during the sailing season. Spontaneous cruising events also materialize throughout the season. We have a number of scheduled events planned for the summer season. Cruisers are out and about just about every weekday and weekend throughout the summer.

Cruising | Events | Destinations | Safety

The 2020 LCYC Junior Sailing program has been canceled to the coronavirus pandemic.

Lake Champlain Yacht Club has an active junior sailing program, open to all children ages 8-17. We use Optimist prams and Flying Junior dinghies for instruction and racing. Full and half-day sessions are offered for all ability levels over an eight week period each summer. All of our Instructors are US Sailing certified and have extensive experience. We also have two race weeks during the summer, the Lake Champlain Champ Chase Regatta and we travel to Lake George for the Cheeseburger Regatta!

Registration | Schedule | Curriculum | Jobs

Lake Champlain is a beautiful venue for sailboat racing, with excellent competition, friendly competitors, and great participation. LCYC features a summer-long Wednesday Night racing series, an Etchells/Sportboat series, and weekend races, several of which are part of the the Lake Champlain Championship Series. Our friends at Mallets Bay Boat Club, Royal Savage Yacht Club, and Valcour Sailing Club also offer great racing events around the lake. LCYC also hosts an annual Viper 640 Regatta.

Documents | Divisions | Registration | Results