Weekend Series — Jib and Main Overall Winner / Cannon Trophy


Lowest Series Score — Jib & Main Division
Ties Broken Based on Lowest Corrected Score
21st Consecutive Awarding — 2012

This trophy is a solid brass 10 guage starting cannon mounted on a cast iron carriage. It was used for many years as the starting gun for the club's races. But it was heavy and awkward to use, so eventually the club switched to a 10 guage shotgun. The cannon was retired to a clubhouse closet.

By 1992 non-spinnaker racing had begun to grow to significant numbers, so a new Jib & Main division was added to the club's long-standing weekend series. A special trophy was needed that would provide to the top non-spinnaker bot in the series the same distinctive recognition that the Billado Trophy did for the top spinnaker boat. Commodore Chuck Bowen and Regatta Chair Jeff Hill resurrected the venerable cannon, had it mounted on a mahogony base, and a new tradition was born. In 1997 Bob Goodwin, having the trophy at home as that year's winner, completely refurbished the cannon and modified the base to make it better able to display winners' names.

In 1992 and since, the Cannon series includes the Tea Kettle, Ladies Cup, Schuyler Island, and Hot Ruddered Bum races.



1992 Edelweiss II Ulie Holzinger Hunter 37 Cutter
1993 Solaris Laurel Buttler (Non-member) O'Day 28
1994 Sundance Tom Glynn Pearson37
1995 Edelweiss II Ulie Holzinger Hunter 37 Cutter
1996 Solaris John Camm (Non-member) O'Day 28
1997 Legacy Bob Goodwin Tartan 3000
1998 Legacy Bob Goodwin Tartan 3000
1999 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2000 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2001 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2002 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2003 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2004 Radiant Steve Landau Tartan 34-2
2005 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2006 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2007 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2008 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2009 Mambo Richard Howell Etchells
2010 Snead Luis Gonzalez/td> Boyer Mark 4
2011 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2012 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2013 Wingdam Mike Barker Tartan 34
2014 Monk Thomas Graham C&C 27
2015 Kinsale Robert Finn J27
2016 Kinsale Robert Finn J27
2017 Kinsale Robert Finn J27
Image icon Weekend Ovrl JAM - Cannon Trophy.jpg139.48 KB

LCYC is a member-run yacht club located in a sheltered cove on the southwest shore of Shelburne Bay in Shelburne, Vermont, USA. We offer moorings, activities, and community for our members, most of whom own a sailboat or powerboat. The object of the Club is to promote and encourage boating and sailing on Lake Champlain, while emphasizing racing, cruising, and education, without financial gain. Click here if you are interested in joining LCYC!

About | Binnacle | Directions | History


Lake Champlain offers some of the best freshwater cruising in North America. The beautiful scenery and charming lakeside destinations make it a great place to explore. LCYC organizes several rendezvous events. Spontaneous cruising events also materialize throughout the season. We have a number of scheduled events planned for the summer season. Cruisers are out and about just about every weekday and weekend throughout the summer.

Cruising | Events | Destinations | Safety

Lake Champlain Yacht Club has an active junior sailing program, open to all children ages 8-17. We use Optimist prams and Flying Junior dinghies for instruction and racing. Full and half-day sessions are offered for all ability levels over an eight week period each summer. All of our Instructors are US Sailing certified and have extensive experience. We also typically have two race weeks during the summer, the Lake Champlain Champ Chase Regatta and we travel to Lake George for the Cheeseburger Regatta!

Registration | Schedule | Curriculum | Jobs | Boats