LCYC Board Of Governors Meeting

01/09/19

Attending: Joss Besse (Commodore), Kevin Hawko (Junior Sailing Programs), Jean Sievert (Treasurer), Bob Finn (Harbormaster), Ann Clark (Social), Lynnea Rosner (Cruising/Boating), James Unsworth(Regatta), Dave Powlison (Communications), Mike Kerbaugh (Docks), Kristin Knight (Secretary & Membership), Bill Bresee (Stewards & Vice Commodore), Michael Clapp (Grounds)

2019 Incoming Officers: Charlie VanWinkle (Commodore), Jay Heaslip (Treasurer), Don Brush (Boats), Dana Bolton (Stewards)

Absent: Jeff Bourdeau (Boats), Tom Glynn (House),

1. Call to Order

1.1. Joss Besse called the meeting to order at 6:06pm

2. Approve Minutes

- 2.1. December 12, 2018 Minutes
 - 2.1.1. Motion to approve Bob, 2nd Mike, Approved

3. Treasurer's Report (Jean Seivert/Jay Heaslip)

- 3.1. Motion to approve the Treasurer's Report, Lynnea, 2nd Ann, Approved
- 3.2. Stewards tips have been distributed
- 3.3. 2018 payroll has been paid out
- 3.4. 2018 Operating surplus of around \$20k, Jean will send out detailed final financials soon
- 3.5. IRS has notified us that our interest earnings over \$1,000 threshold, which requires income taxes. Tax was around \$50, fines and interest were another \$40. Jean has filed the appropriate tax forms and mailed them via registered mail due to the current IRS furlough.

4. Membership Report (Kristin Knight)

- 4.1. Update on membership renewals for 2019
 - 4.1.1. Matthew and Kate Moreau Hardship request for delay in dues payment
 - 4.1.1.1. Motion to approve an extension due by April 1st, 2019 with the \$100 late fee, Mike K, 2nd Mike. Approve.

- 4.1.2. Chuck and Mary Finn request for inactive Member status
 - 4.1.2.1. Motion to approve the Finn's for Inactive status Dave, 2nd Mike.

 Approved
- 4.1.3. Bruce Hewitt request for Senior Member status
 - 4.1.3.1. Motion to approve Bruce Hewitt for Senior Membership, Mike C., 2nd Mike. Approved.

5. Action Items

- 5.1. Selection of Commodore's Cup recipient (see attachment to the agenda) (Joss)
 - 5.1.1. Discussion around proposed recipients
 - 5.1.1.1. Motion to nominate Al and Sandy Lewis, Dave, 2nd Ann. Approved.
 - 5.1.1.2. Lynnea to look into updating the Commodore's Cup to include language around the recipient assisting and inspiring other members to cruise including service to members and the club
- 5.2. Selection of Yachtsperson of the Year (see attachment to the agenda) (Joss)
 - 5.2.1. Discussion around proposed recipients
 - 5.2.2. Motion to nominate Bob Shoemacker for Yachstperson of the year award, Dave P. 2nd Ann, Approved
- 5.3. Approval of 2019 budget
 - 5.3.1. Motion to approve the 2019 budget with contributing 5% into the Capital Fund and consistent with recommendations by Bob Schumacker on behalf of the Finance Committee, Mike K, 2nd Lynnea. Approved

6. <u>Discussion Items:</u>

- 6.1. Change of Watch update (Ann)
 - 6.1.1. Currently there are 37 reservations
 - 6.1.1.1. 3 new members have accepted the free dinners
 - 6.1.2. Discussion around this event drawing less numbers and concern about its format.

6.1.3. Burlington Country Club is requesting 100 reservations, which there is concern of us hitting that number. Cut off date is January 21st.

7. <u>Committee Reports:</u>

- 7.1. Boats
- 7.2. Communications
 - 7.2.1. Communications will no longer be a chair of the board, but will continue to manage communications in 2019.
 - 7.2.2. Will be looking for more response by the BOG to provide articles on what each area has been working on.
 - 7.2.3. Calendar Social Updates and Cruising can be sent to Dave. Racing is managed by Jason Hyerstay.

7.3. Cruising

7.3.1. Working on the schedule for 2019

7.4. Docks

- 7.4.1. Will review dinghy spot responses
- 7.4.2. Addition of 2 docks, making plans and bill of materials and designs. Will have a dock workday a few weekends before opening work day
- 7.5. Finance
- 7.6. Grounds
- 7.7. Harbor
- 7.8. House
- 7.9. Membership
 - 7.9.1. Log preparation
- 7.10. Regatta
- 7.11. Junior Sailing
 - 7.11.1. Met in December with CSC at Mallets Bay to coordinate regatta's around the lake
 - 7.11.2. Beginning to recruit this summer's instructors
- 7.12. Social
- 7.13. Stewards

8. Other Business

9. Adjourn

9.1. Motion to adjourn at 7:38pm James,2nd Lynnea. Approved.

LCYC YACHTSMAN OF THE YEAR . WILLIAM B. ARCHEY TROPHY .

In 1973 the Board, under Commodore Robert W. Henshaw, created an annual award to give special recognition to a club member, not then an officer or board member, who has shown outstanding participation in and service to the club. To honor the Yachtsman of the Year the board decided to use a very special historic LCYC artifact, a large solid brass cannon on a mahogany base, reacquired by the club earlier that year after having been forgotten in storage for 35 years.

In 1982, under Commodore Robert Dunn, the board determined that the cannon was such an historic and monumental relic of early LCYC, having been used as the club's ceremonial cannon from 1909 to 7938, that it should become the ceremonial cannon of the modern club as well. Jay Trumper refurbished it and modified it to be able to fire today's shells.

To replace the cannon as the traveling Yachtsman of the Year trophy the board acquired a large brass hanging oil lamp. Recognition that year went posthumously to William B. Archey, a fun-loving, gregarious bear of a,man who tragically died too young. Bill loved the club and helped out with anything and everything. He was an avid family cruiser as well as a diligent but mostly noncompetitive racer. The board believed that Bill was a notable representative of the type of member the Yachtsman of the Year award is intended to recognize and they memorialized him by naming the new trophy in his honor.

LCYC CRUISING AWARD . COMMODORE'S CUP .

1977- 86 - Boat with Most Recorded Miles 1987- present - Chosen Based on Broad Criteria

The trophy is a 3 1./2 pint three-handled sterling silver loving cup. The original History of the trophy is not known. However, it bears the date 1909, and we do know that in 1909 LCYC sponsored the main events of Burlington's observance of the 300ft anniversary of the discovery of the lake by Samuel de Champlain. As part of that celebration LCYC held a regatta on July 8, observed from a waterfront viewing stand by President William H. Taft, Governor Winston Prouty, Ambassador Jusserand of France, and Ambassador

Bryce of Great Britain. It is probable that as part of that celebratory year the club gave this trophy as special recognition to a member for exemplary or extensive cruising on Champlain's lake.

At some time the trophy came into the possession of William S. Preston, Jr., Commodore in 1958, who kept it in the vault of his jewelry store. In 1973, when Robert W. Henshaw was Commodore, Preston gave the cup to the club to restore it to its intended use. In 1977 the board, under Thomas Sproston Commodore, established the modern cruising award with this cup as the trophy. For the first ten years, from 1977-86,the criteria for winning the trophy was totally objective - recognition went to the member/boat with the highest nautical miles as documented by the boat's log.

In 1987 the Board of Governors voted that the trophy would henceforth be awarded by the board to the member most worthy of club recognition for their noteworthy cruising endeavors, undertakings, or experiences in a given year or cumulatively, on the lake or in other waters.