

LCYC Board of Governors Meeting, and CHANGE OF WATCH MINUTES

Held via remote Zoom meeting 11 January 2021; 18:30 – 20:00

Invited Participants: Charlie Van Winkle (Commodore), Bob Finn (Harbormaster & Vice Commodore), Mike Kerbaugh (Docks & Rear Commodore), Heidi Lessard (Social), James Unsworth (Regatta), Bill Kallock-(Junior Sailing Programs), Betsey Dempsey (Secretary & Membership), John Stetson (Stewards), Don Brush (Boats), Jay Heaslip (Treasurer), Gunnar Sievert (Cruising/Boating); Tom Glynn (House),

Invited Guests: Walt Marti (Commodore Elect), Bob Turnau (incoming Regatta Chair), Ben Durant (Incoming House Chair)

Zoom Meeting Access Instructions:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88630862053?pwd=dGtmeWxjQURnaTFGTncwOFk4dTRIQT09

Meeting ID: 886 3086 2053, Passcode: 573612

One tap mobile

+19292056099,,88630862053#,,,,,0#,,573612# US (New York)

1. Call to Order

1.1. Approve minutes from 14 December 2020. Motion to approve: 1st: John Stetson 2nd: Gunnar Sievert, Motion approved.

2. Membership

- 2.1. Application for Whit Wales presented for approval
 - 2.1.1. Discussion regarding whether Whit Wales wants a separate membership vs. being a partner. Tabled for February Meeting
 - 2.1.2. You must be purchase your own membership if you want a second mooring
- 2.2. Resignations
 - 2.2.1. Steven & Charlotte Adams
 - 2.2.2. Eli Lesser Goldsmith
 - 2.2.3. Keith Kennedy
 - 2.2.4. Bill Fastiggi
 - 2.2.5. George Schiavone passed away
 - 2.2.6. Several late payers

3. Treasurer Report - Jay Heaslip

- 3.1. The YTD income/expense vs budget is here
 - 3.1.1. We currently have a 2020 operating surplus of ~\$29K 3.1.1.1. Will move it to a surplus fund. Use of fund TBD

4. Budget Discussion

4.1. Current Budget is found here



- 4.2. As proposed the 2021 surplus is ~\$7K, with 5% contribution to the capital fund.
 - 4.2.1. The Finance Committee (FC) met on 1/7/21 and made the following recommendations:
 - 4.2.1.1. Retain the 2020 operating surplus in the general fund deciding on the fate of the surplus as the 2021 season progresses.
 - 4.2.1.2. The FC board recommends the Board of Governors approve the proposed 2021 operating budget as amended.
- 4.3. Motion to approve proposed 2021 budget: 1st: Gunnar Sievert 2nd: John Stetson. Motion approved.

5. **Draft Calendar**

- 5.1. The draft calendar as developed by regatta can be found here:

 https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1CaezvTvSpyJ7SdFwBqmOaJGXjGqqyKO
 1?usp=sharing
 - 5.1.1. Discussion included moving race clinics to Tuesdays instead of Thursdays.

6. **Annual Awards**

- 6.1. <u>Yachtsman of the year</u> Awarded to a club member for major contributions to LCYC.
 - 6.1.1. Results of poll of BOG: Jimmy Slauterbeck and Gerry Davis, received a majority. Award will go to J. Slauterbeck and G. Davis
- 6.2. <u>Cruiser(s) of the year</u> Awarded to a club member for major cruising achievements.
 - 6.2.1. Results of poll of BOG: Beth Kohler and Todd Toensing received a majority. Award will go to B. Kohler and T. Toensign

7. Change Of Watch

- 7.1. Thank you to outgoing officers and Commodore
 - 7.1.1. James Unsworth: Regatta
 - 7.1.2. Tom Glynn: House
 - 7.1.3. Charlie Van Winkle: Commodore
- 7.2. Welcome to incoming officers and New Commodore
 - 7.2.1. Walt Marti: Commodore
 - 7.2.2. Bob Turnau: Regatta
 - 7.2.3. Ben Durant: House
 - 7.2.4. New Commodore remarks: Entire BOG should be congratulated for their work during a very difficult year. We will try to make this coming season as "normal" as possible. We also need to get a better idea of what all members want out of LCYC and try to focus on a few ideas. We need to evaluate how we communicate. We want to be completely transparent. I'm hoping we can agree on cleaning up the south end of the property.

8. Other Business

8.1. COVID-19 Task force, replacement members needed as Jimmy Slauterbeck has moved out of the area and others have resigned. John Stetson, Bill Kallock, Ben Durant and Bob Turnau have offered to be board representatives. Matt Fisher will take J. Slauterbeck's place as the physician on the task force.



9.

Adjourn

Motion to adjourn at 19:19, 1st: Bob Finn, 2nd: Mike Kerbaugh. Motion approved.